What is Find It! ?
Find It! is a next generation, single-search box tool that provides a dynamic "one-stop" Discovery and delivery service to the Library Catalogue, the Libraries’ Digital Collections and a mega-aggregated index of hundreds of millions of scholarly e-resources including articles, e-books, reviews, legal documents, and more.
What is Find It! searching?
Find It! searches the following collections:
Local Digital Collections: digitized material from the Edwin A. Link, Jr. Digital Archives.
Library Catalog: books, e-books, journals, DVDs, sound recordings, government documents, etc.
Primo Central: hundreds of millions of records for books, journal articles, e-books, newspapers obtained from scholarly publishers such as JSTOR, Oxford Journals, Web of Science, Gale, and more. For a complete list of publishers included in Primo Central download the Primo Central Coverage file (opens in excel).
You can search all these collections simultaneously or individually.
Why should I use Find It!?
Find It! is useful when you want to search multiple collections and/or disciplines simultaneously. The facets in the left-hand column make it easy to narrow a search by subject, material type, availability, language, etc. The “My Account” feature allows you to tag items, save searches and records, and set alerts.
How can I locate books and articles that I find in Find It!?
Books : A book’s availability and location displays in the search results. To recall a book that is checked out, go to “Sign in” in the top right-hand menu. Once signed in, click on the “Request Tab” to place the recall. More information about recalling a book is available on the Libraries’ Circulation Services page .
Articles, reviews, etc. : An article that displays “Full text available” can be viewed by clicking on the “View Online” tab. An article that displays “No full-text” is not available electronically. Click on the “Services” tab to see if the item is available in print format. Items not available in print or electronically can be ordered through the Libraries’ Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) service.
I’m getting too many results. How can I narrow my search?
The facets in the left-hand column make it easy to narrow a search by subject, material type, availability, language, etc. The “Advanced Search” page allows you to narrow a search by field (e.g. title, author, subject, etc.). Searches can also be narrowed by publication date, material type, and collection. If you find that you are still getting too many results, you may want to search a subject specific database or resource.
Can I still access the Library Catalogue and specific databases> such as JSTOR and Academic Search Complete?
Yes, the Library Catalogue is still linked available on the “Books & More” tab on the Libraries’ homepage. Individual databases
I need some additional help finding resources. Who can I contact?
The Libraries’ Ask a Librarian services offers reference and research help both in-person and virtually.
I have some feedback about Find It! . Who can I contact?
We encourage you to send feedback about Find It! so that we can continue to make improvements to the service.